Cool Kids album due July 12: When Fish Ride Bicycles

This is the place for publicists and artists to let people know about their bands and websites and shows and stuff. If you're going to hype your shit, this is the place to do it.

Moderators: D. Phillips, Jake

Post Reply
GLONO Team Member
Posts: 7371
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Michigan

Cool Kids album due July 12: When Fish Ride Bicycles

Post by Jake »



New York, NY (May 31st, 2011) - On July 12th, 2011 The Cool Kids will release their long-awaited and highly anticipated full-length album, When Fish Ride Bicycles on Green Label Sound. When Fish Ride Bicycles features 11 brand new songs and finds Mikey Rocks and Chuck Inglish working with the likes of Ghostface Killah of the Wu Tang Clan, Bun B, Mayer Hawthorne, Asher Roth, Travis Barker and more. Recording began with Pharrell Williams at Miami's South Beach Studios in December 2010 and continued over several return sessions, culminating in Williams' production of album closer "Summer Jam (featuring Maxine Ashley)". Additional recording in New York and Chicago, with The Cool Kids' self-production on the rest of the album, helped When Fish Ride Bicycles become their most diverse work to date.

Chuck Inglish describes their chance to work with the guests on their album fondly. On being in the Miami studio with Pharrell Williams, "it was a dream of mine since I was 17." Along with Mikey, he recalled a moment when Raekwon stopped by their Chicago studio and likened the track "Penny Hardaway" to music recorded at RZA's house in the early 90's. Citing Raekwon and Ghostface as their original inspiration to start rapping, that offhand remark had a lasting effect..."Saying that to us was like the most unreal compliment, to have one of the inspirations for the song tell you that it reminded him of the sh*t they used to make."

When Fish Ride Bicycles
1. Rush Hour Traffic
2. GMC
3. Boomin' (featuring Tennille)
4. Sour Apples (featuring Travis Barker)
5. Penny Hardaway (featuring Ghostface Killah)
6. Bundle Up
7. Gas Station (featuring Bun B)
8. Get Right
9. Swimsuits (featuring Mayer Hawthorne)
10. Roll Call (featuring Asher Roth, Chip Tha Ripper, Boldy James)
11. Summer Jam (featuring Maxine Ashley), Produced by Pharrell Williams

Back in August of 2008, Mountain Dew launched their record label, Green Label Sound, by releasing an exclusive single, "Delivery Man" by The Cool Kids. Two and a half years later, When Fish Ride Bicycles will be the first full-length release for Green Label Sound via the iTunes Music Store.

Green Label Sound, Mountain Dew's record label, is a unique model music outlet designed to elevate and empower independent artists. Music fans can go to to download free music and watch exclusive videos by Chromeo, Wavves, Neon Indian, Matt & Kim, Theophilus London, Holy Ghost!, The Cool Kids, MNDR, Freelance Whales, U-N-I, Flosstradamus and Caroline Polachek, Solid Gold, Amazing Baby, and Kuroma.!/coolxkids!/chuckisdope!/sirmichaelrocks
Post Reply