So what do you think of the Shins’ major label debut?

Stream: The Shins – “Simple Song” from Port of Morrow, due March 20 on Columbia.

“I know that things can really get rough when you go it alone.”

So this is the sound of the Shins after James Mercer ditches his band and dumps Sub Pop for a major label. Sounds a lot like the Shins back when James Mercer had his old band and was still on Sub Pop.

It sounds good. Might take you a couple listens to get adjusted to the sheen and gloss, but once you’re used to it the song hits the same emotional spots that the Shins always have. Here’s hoping the rest of the album is as good.

1. The Rifle’s Spiral
2. Simple Song
3. It’s Only Life
4. Bait And Switch
5. September
6. No Way Down
7. For A Fool
8. Fall Of ’82
9. 40 Mark Strasse
10. Port Of Morrow

From the Shins’ web site: “Port of Morrow was recorded in Los Angeles and Portland over the course of 2011 with James Mercer as usual handling all songwriting duties and lead vocals. The album was produced by Greg Kurstin and mixed by Rich Costey.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *